HTML Document View

Full title: Response /Alex and Ani's Reservation of Rights Regarding the Debtors' First Omnibus Claim Objection with certificate of service filed by Interested Party Alex and Ani, LLC Re: 500 First Omnibus Objection to Claim of Claimant Debtor's First Omnibus Objection to Certain (I) Duplicative Claims, (II) Assigned Claims, (III) No Liability Claims, (IV) Satisfied Claims, (V) Reclassified and/or Modified Claims, (VI) Late Claims and (VIII) Wrong Debtor Claims filed by Debtor TPS Oldco, LLC. (Wallack, James) (Entered: 06/08/2021)

Document posted on Jun 7, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 6 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

Alex and Ani, LLC (“Alex and Ani”) hereby files this reservation of rights in response to the Debtors’ First Omnibus Objection to Certain (I)No Liability Claims, (IV) Satisfied Claims, (V) Reclassified Claims and/or Modified Claims, (VI) Late Claims, (VII)The Debtors’ corporate headquarters and service address is c/o G2 Capital Advisors LLC | 420 Boylston Street, Suite 302 | Boston MA 02116 | Attention: Don Van der Wiel, Managing Director.On April 26, 2021, the Debtors filed the Omnibus Objection, which includes a “wrong debtor” objection to Alex and Ani’s claim against Debtor TPS Holdings, LLC.Nothing in this reservation of rights should be construed to adversely affect any of Alex and Ani’s rights, claims, or causes of action against the Debtors or their successors or assigns pursuant to the Sale Order or otherwise.

List of Tables

Document Contents

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS (CENTRAL DIVISION) ) In re: ) Chapter 11 ) TPS Oldco, LLC, et al.,1 ) Case No. 20-40743 (CJP) ) (Jointly Administered) Debtors. ) ) Re: Docket No. 500 ALEX AND ANI’S RESERVATION OF RIGHTS REGARDING THE DEBTORS’ FIRST OMNIBUS CLAIMS OBJECTION Alex and Ani, LLC (“Alex and Ani”) hereby files this reservation of rights in response to the Debtors’ First Omnibus Objection to Certain (I) Duplicative Claims, (II) Assigned Claims, (III) No Liability Claims, (IV) Satisfied Claims, (V) Reclassified Claims and/or Modified Claims, (VI) Late Claims, (VII) Amended and Superseded Claims, and (VII) Wrong Debtor Claims [Docket No. 500] (the “Omnibus Objection”) and respectfully states as follows: Factual and Procedural Background 1. Alex and Ani is party to a prepetition contract with the certain of the debtors and debtors in possession in the above-captioned chapter 11 cases (collectively, the “Debtors”) regarding the sale of Alex and Ani’s merchandise in the Debtors’ stores. 2. On July 14, 2020 (the “Petition Date”), the Debtors each commenced a voluntary case under chapter 11 of title 11 of the United States Code in the Bankruptcy Court for the District of Massachusetts (the “Court”). On the Petition Date, the Debtors filed a motion seeking, among 1 The Debtors in these chapter 11 cases, along with the last four digits of each Debtor’s federal tax identification number, are TPS Oldco, LLC (2442) and TPS Holdings, LLC (9193). The Debtors’ corporate headquarters and service address is c/o G2 Capital Advisors LLC | 420 Boylston Street, Suite 302 | Boston MA 02116 | Attention: Don Van der Wiel, Managing Director.

1

other things, expedited approval of bidding procedures to market test a proposed sale of substantially all of the Debtors’ assets and accompanying procedures related to the assumption and assignment of executory contracts and unexpired leases [Docket No. 7] (the “Sale Motion”). On July 24, 2020, the Court approved the various procedures outlined in the Sale Motion [Docket No. 117]. 3. On July 27, 2020, the Debtors filed a Notice to Counterparties to Executory Contracts and Unexpired Leases that May be Assumed and Assigned [Docket No. 144] (the “Original Contract Assumption Schedule”). The Original Contract Assumption Schedule scheduled Alex and Ani’s contract for assumption. 4. On August 4, 2020, the Debtors filed a revised Notice to Counterparties to Executory Contracts and Unexpired Leases that May Be Assumed and Assigned [Docket No. 202] (the “Revised Contract Assumption Schedule”). The Revised Contract Assumption Schedule also scheduled Alex and Ani’s contract for assumption. No other contract schedules were filed. 5. Following the filing of the Revised Contract Assumption Schedule, Alex and Ani worked with the Debtors to reconcile Alex and Ani’s cure claim. 6. On September 1, 2020, the Court entered an order approving the sale of substantially all of the Debtors’ assets [Docket No. 367] (the “Sale Order”). The final purchase agreement schedules include Alex and Ani’s contract as an assumed contract and reflect the cure amount Alex and Ani reconciled with the Debtors. Upon information and belief, the sale of the Debtors’ assets closed on the same day it was approved.

2

7. On October 13, 2020, Alex and Ani timely filed protective proofs of claim against both of the Debtors [Claim Nos. 229 & 230]. Each proof of claim asserted an entitlement to a general unsecured claim of $97,740.11 and an administrative claim of $7,600.95. 8. On April 26, 2021, the Debtors filed the Omnibus Objection, which includes a “wrong debtor” objection to Alex and Ani’s claim against Debtor TPS Holdings, LLC. 9. As of the date of this reservation of rights, Alex and Ani has not been paid its cure claim. Alex and Ani has attempted to resolve matters informally without success and anticipates seeking relief from the Court in the near term to protect its rights to its cure claim. Reservation of Rights 10. Alex and Ani files this reservation of rights out of an abundance of caution to place parties on notice of its unpaid cure claim and to preserve its rights against all Debtors while it attempts to seek payment of its cure claim. 11. Nothing in this reservation of rights should be construed to adversely affect any of Alex and Ani’s rights, claims, or causes of action against the Debtors or their successors or assigns pursuant to the Sale Order or otherwise. Alex and Ani will separately seek enforcement of the Sale Order to the extent its cure claim is not promptly paid. [Remainder of page intentionally left blank.]

3

Dated: June 8, 2021 RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED, By:/s/ James F. Wallack James F. Wallack, Esq. (BBO #557061) GOULSTON & STORRS PC 400 Atlantic Avenue Boston, Massachusetts 02110-3333 Tel: (617) 482-1776 Email: jwallack@goulstonstorrs.com Counsel to Alex and Ani, LLC

4

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that on June 8, 2021, a true and correct copy of the foregoing document was served electronically via the Court’s CM/ECF system on the parties listed on the attached service list. /s/ James F. Wallack James F. Wallack

5

SERVICE LIST   William J. Amann wamann@ba-lawgroup.com, cshaw@ba-lawgroup.com  Paul W. Carey pcarey@mirickoconnell.com, bankrupt@mirickoconnell.com  Christine E. Devine cdevine@mirickoconnell.com, bankrupt@mirickoconnell.com  Patrick P. Dinardo pdinardo@sandw.com, jcarey@sandw.com;nkoslof@sandw.com  Rachel Eisenhaure eisenhaurer@whiteandwilliams.com  Jesse M. Harris jesseharris@foxrothschild.com  Honor S. Heath honor.heath@eversource.com, honor.heath@hotmail.com  Leslie C. Heilman heilmanl@ballardspahr.com, carbonej@ballardspahr.com  David Himelfarb dhimelfarb@mccarter.com, jlubertazzi@mccarter.com  Jonathan Horne jhorne@murthalaw.com, lmulvehill@murthalaw.com  Matthew A. Kane kane@laredosmith.com, doyle@laredosmith.com  Richard King USTPRegion01.WO.ECF@USDOJ.GOV  John C. La Liberte JCLaLiberte@sherin.com, sworfolk@sherin.com  Robert L. LeHane KDWBankruptcyDepartment@kelleydrye.com; MVicinanza@ecf.inforuptcy.com  Mitchell J. Levine mlevine@nairlevin.com  Jason C. Manfrey jmanfrey@foxrothschild.com  Jeffrey A. Marks jamarks@vorys.com, mdwalkuski@vorys.com  Alex F. Mattera amattera@pierceatwood.com, lhawe@pierceatwood.com  David Mawhinney dmawhinney@bowditch.com  Laura McCarthy Laura.McCarthy@morganlewis.com  Timothy J. McKeon tjmckeon@mintz.com  William S. McMahon wmcmahon@dmlawllp.com  Michael G. Menkowitz mmenkowitz@foxrothschild.com, jdistanislao@foxrothschild.com  Stephen E. Meunier stephen.meunier@usdoj.gov  Denise Mondell denise.mondell@ct.gov  Vanessa Moody vmoody@goulstonstorrs.com  Kevin M. Newman knewman@barclaydamon.com, kmnbk@barclaydamon.com  Walter J. Onacewicz wonacewicz@nairlevin.com  Christopher Pardo cpardo@hunton.com, ghesse@HuntonAK.com  Vincent J. Pisegna vpisegna@kb-law.com, rrh@kb-law.com  Mark W. Powers mpowers@bowditch.com, sfleming@bowditch.com  Steven C. Reingold steven.reingold@saul.com, michele.urann@saul.com  Paul J. Ricotta pricotta@mintz.com  Peter J Roberts proberts@cozen.com, peter-roberts- 1301@ecf.pacerpro.com;cknez@cozen.com  Lisa D. Tingue lisa.d.tingue@usdoj.gov  Kevin J. Walsh kwalsh@mintz.com, docketing@mintz.com  Richard Welsh, rwelsh@kahalaslaw.com  Brian E. Whiteley bwhiteley@barclaydamon.com  Amy A. Zuccarello azuccarello@sandw.com

6