HTML Document View

Full title: Opposition with Certificate of Service Filed by Wynhoven Health Care Center (RE: (related document(s)936 Motion for Relief From Stay filed by Interested Party Angela Freeman) (Attachments: # 1 Exhibit # 2 Exhibit) (Draper, Douglas) (Entered: 07/19/2021)

Document posted on Jul 18, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 7 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

The opposition is based upon this Court’s ruling and the ruling of Judge Ashe in Ralph Roe v. Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans and Harold Thomas Ehlinger, United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana Civil ActionNotwithstanding the fact that no direct action exists against Catholic Mutual by Mover, Catholic Mutual has issued an insurance policy that does in fact insure both the Roman Catholic Church of the Archdiocese of New Orleans and Wynhoven.# 131 (attached here to as Exhibit 1) and Order # 357) and Judge Ashe in the Motion to Remand in Ralph Roe v. Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans, Civil Action #20-1829 [Dkt.The principal established in both cases is that stay should not be lifted, due to the fact that other creditors who have filed proofs of claim in the Debtor’s bankruptcy case may possess claims against the proceeds of the Catholic Mutual Policy and, as such, lifting the automatic stay will cause a race to the Courthouse and collection against a policy that may provide recovery for a number of the Debtor’s creditors.Mover’s offer misses the point that Wynhoven is, in fact, insured by Catholic Mutual and has a claim against the Catholic Mutual Policy for any amount it is cast in judgment for and pays.

List of Tables

Document Contents

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA In re: § § Case No. 20-10846 § § THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH § OF THE ARCHDIOCESE OF NEW Section “A” § ORLEANS, § § Chapter 11 Debtor.1 OPPOSITION TO MOTION FOR RELIEF FROM AUTOMATIC STAY Now into Court, through undersigned counsel, comes Chateau de Notre Dame d\b\a Wynhoven Health Care Center (“Wynhoven”), who files this opposition to the Motion for Relief from Automatic Stay (“Motion”) [Dkt. # 936] filed by Angela Freeman. The opposition is based upon this Court’s ruling and the ruling of Judge Ashe in Ralph Roe v. Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans and Harold Thomas Ehlinger, United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana Civil Action No. 20-1829 that the claim is one against property of the estate. The claim asserted by Angela Freeman is no different than other Motions to Lift the Automatic Stay that have been denied by this Court. Facts 1. On March 27, 2019, Angela Freeman filed suit against Wynhoven and the Catholic Mutual Relief Society (“Catholic Mutual”) in Civil District Court. 1 The last four digits of the Debtor’s federal tax identification number are 8966. The Debtor’s principal place of business is located at 7887 Walmsley Ave., New Orleans, LA 70125.

1

2. Catholic Mutual was dismissed as a defendant due to the fact that it is not an insurance company and, as such, no direct action exists against it under applicable Louisiana law. 3. Notwithstanding the fact that no direct action exists against Catholic Mutual by Mover, Catholic Mutual has issued an insurance policy that does in fact insure both the Roman Catholic Church of the Archdiocese of New Orleans and Wynhoven. 4. The policy and the proceeds of the Catholic Mutual policy at issue in this case are in fact property of the estate. The Claim is Against Property of the Estate 5. The automatic stay applies to claims asserted not only against Debtor but also against property in which the Debtor possesses an interest. See 11 U.S.C. § 362(a)(2) and (3). 6. The 5th Circuit has held that an insurance policy owned by a debtor is property of the estate. See In Re Edgeworth, 993 F.2d 51, 53 (5th Cir. 1993). 7. The 5th Circuit has also held that in certain circumstances the proceeds of an insurance policy constitutes property of the estate. See In Re OGA Charters LLC, 901 F.3d 599, 604 (5th Cir 2018). 8. This Court, in the Motion for Partial Relief from the Automatic Stay filed by Merle Noullet (Dkt. # 131 (attached here to as Exhibit 1) and Order # 357) and Judge Ashe in the Motion to Remand in Ralph Roe v. Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans, Civil Action #20-1829 [Dkt. # 11] (copy of Opinion attached as Exhibit 2) have held that the proceeds of the Insurance Policy at issue in this case constitutes “property of the estate”. It is interesting to note that in Noullet, entities, in addition to the Debtor, were defendants and this Court did not

2

allow the stay to be lifted. In Roe, Judge Ashe denied a Motion to Remand in a case where the Debtor was not a defendant. 9. The rationale employed by this Court in denying the Motion for Partial Relief from the Automatic Stay and Judge Ashe in denying the Motion to Remand is applicable to the Motion filed on behalf of Mover. 10. The principal established in both cases is that stay should not be lifted, due to the fact that other creditors who have filed proofs of claim in the Debtor’s bankruptcy case may possess claims against the proceeds of the Catholic Mutual Policy and, as such, lifting the automatic stay will cause a race to the Courthouse and collection against a policy that may provide recovery for a number of the Debtor’s creditors. 11. The Motion asserts that Mover is solely pursuing a claim against a Non Debtor and that Mover will not immediately collect from any applicable insurance policies. Mover’s offer misses the point that Wynhoven is, in fact, insured by Catholic Mutual and has a claim against the Catholic Mutual Policy for any amount it is cast in judgment for and pays. The payment of the claim will come from the Catholic Mutual policy whose proceeds are property of the estate. 12. In addition, the Motion does not per se waive any claim against the policy but, rather, defers payment against the policy to a later date if Mover cannot collect from Wynhoven. The so-called waiver is irrelevant because the ultimate party paying the judgment, if any judgement is entered, will be Catholic Mutual. 13. The case cited by Mover of In Re Fowler, 259 BR 856, 868 ( E.D Tex. 2001) does not support Mover’s position. In Fowler, the Court lifted the stay solely to liquidate the claim but did not allow collection.

3

14. Mover’s contention that the Notice of Stay that was filed in the case was a litigation tactic is not supported by any assertions. Conclusion Based upon the foregoing, the Motion for Relief from Automatic Stay should be denied. Dated July 19, 2021 Respectfully submitted: /s/ Douglas S. Draper Douglas S. Draper, La. Bar No. 5073 Leslie A. Collins, La. Bar No. 14891 HELLER, DRAPER & HORN, L.L.C. 650 Poydras Street, Suite 2500 New Orleans, LA 70130-6103 Telephone: 504.299.3300/Fax: 504.299.3399 E-mail:ddraper@hellerdraper.com E-mail:lcollins@hellerdraper.com Attorneys for Chateau de Notre Dame d\b\a Wynhoven Health Care Center, CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I, Douglas S. Draper, hereby certify that a copy of the above and foregoing has caused to be served on July 19, 2021, upon the following parties via this Court’s electronic notification system as follows:  Christine W. Adams cadams@kinneylaw.com  A. Brooke Watford Altazan baltazan@stewartrobbins.com, baltazan@ecf.courtdrive.com;kheard@stewartrobbins.com;kheard@ecf.courtdrive.com;gtaylor@stewartrobbins.com;gtaylor@ecf.courtdrive.com  David Winston Ardoin david@amotriallawyers.com, renee@amotriallawyers.com  Laura F. Ashley lashley@joneswalker.com, hstewart@joneswalker.com;laura-ashley-4406@ecf.pacerpro.com  Alicia M. Bendana abendana@lawla.com, rmichel@lawla.com;seaton@lawla.com  C. Davin Boldissar dboldissar@lockelord.com, Ashley.Lohr@lockelord.com  Richard A. Bordelon rbordelon@denechaudlaw.com

4

 Brandon A. Brown bbrown@stewartrobbins.com, bbrown@ecf.courtdrive.com;kheard@stewartrobbins.com;kheard@ecf.courtdrive.com;gtaylor@stewartrobbins.com;gtaylor@ecf.courtdrive.com  Joseph M. Bruno jbruno@brunobrunolaw.com, Don@brunobrunolaw.com  Amelia L Bueche amelia.hurt@kellyhart.com  Elwood F. Cahill ecahill@shergarner.com  Andrew William Caine acaine@pszjlaw.com  Jamie Dodds Cangelosi jcangelosi@stewartrobbins.com, jcangelosi@ecf.courtdrive.com;kheard@stewartrobbins.com;kheard@ecf.courtdrive.com;gtaylor@stewartrobbins.com;gtaylor@ecf.courtdrive.com  Linda F Cantor lcantor@pszjlaw.com  Desiree M. Charbonnet dcharbonnet@desireelaw.com  William G. Cherbonnier wgc@billcherbonnier.com, laeb.docs@gmail.com;usbcdocs@billcherbonnier.com;caludagroupllc@jubileebk.net  Everett J. Cygal ecygal@schiffhardin.com  John H. Denenea jdenenea@midcitylaw.com, wdominguez@midcitylaw.com  Eric J Derbes ederbes@derbeslaw.com, derbespacer@gmail.com;derbeser72443@notify.bestcase.com  Ross J. Donnes rdonnes@tcmlawfirm.net  Douglas S. Draper ddraper@hellerdraper.com, vgamble@hellerdraper.com  John Douglas Elrod elrodj@gtlaw.com  Joseph Mark Fisher mfisher@schiffhardin.com  Elizabeth J. Futrell efutrell@joneswalker.com, mmontiville@joneswalker.com;lisa-futrell-4186@ecf.pacerpro.com  Amanda Burnette George Amanda.B.George@usdoj.gov  Jeremy Gettes jgettes@gertlerfirm.com  William P. Gibbens billy@semmlaw.com, terri@semmlaw.com  Soren Erik Gisleson sgisleson@hhkc.com, jchauvin@hhkc.com  Brodie Glenn bglenn@bradleyfirm.com  Alan H. Goodman alan.goodman@bswllp.com, moorek@bswllp.com  Ashley J. Heilprin ashley.heilprin@phelps.com  Evan Park Howell ehowell@ephlaw.com, cathyt3@cox.net  Stephen Michael Huber stephen@huberthomaslaw.com  Wayne J. Jablonowski wjjlaw@bellsouth.net  Annette W Jarvis jarvisa@gtlaw.com  Lillian Jordan ljordan@donlinrecano.com, rmapa@donlinrecano.com;nefrecipients@donlinrecano.com;jestrada@donlinrecano.com;fcardona@donlinrecano.com  Benjamin Kadden bkadden@lawla.com, mnguyen@lawla.com  Allison Kingsmill akingsmill@joneswalker.com  Dylan K. Knoll dknoll@denechaudlaw.com  Omer F. Kuebel rkuebel@lockelord.com, kelly.millet@lockelord.com;Yamille.Harrison@lockelord.com  Heather A. LaSalle halexis@hinshawlaw.com, lgraff@mcglinchey.com  Frank E. Lamothe felamothe@lamothefirm.com  Julien Guy Lamothe jlamothe@lamothefirm.com

5

 Mark C. Landry mlandry@newmanmathis.com  Darryl T. Landwehr dtlandwehr@att.net, dtlandwehr@gmail.com  Mary S. Langston Mary.Langston@usdoj.gov  Joseph J Lowenthal jlowenthal@joneswalker.com  Ryan Luminais rluminais@shergarner.com  Thomas J. Madigan tmadigan@shergarner.com  Robert A. Mathis rmathis@newmanmathis.com  Gerald Edward Meunier gmeunier@gainsben.com, dmartin@gainsben.com  Allen C. Miller allen.miller@phelps.com  Mark Mintz mmintz@joneswalker.com, hstewart@joneswalker.com;mark-mintz-4822@ecf.pacerpro.com  Colleen A Murphy murphyc@gtlaw.com  Samantha Oppenheim soppenheim@joneswalker.com, samantha-oppenheim-7970@ecf.pacerpro.com  Dwight C Paulsen tpaulsen@bradleyfirm.com  Felecia Y Peavy felepeavy@juno.com  Nancy Peterman petermann@gtlaw.com  William Shandler Robbins wrobbins@stewartrobbins.com, wrobbins@ecf.courtdrive.com;kheard@stewartrobbins.com;kheard@ecf.courtdrive.com;gtaylor@stewartrobbins.com;gtaylor@ecf.courtdrive.com  Keith A. Rodriguez Krodriguez@keithrodriguez.com  Samuel M. Rosamond srosamond@twpdlaw.com, jgreen@twpdlaw.com  Richard A Rozanski richard@rarlaw.net  David Rubin David.Rubin@butlersnow.com  Logan Elizabeth Schonekas logan@huberthomaslaw.com  Glenn K. Schreiber glenn.schreiber@usdoj.gov, bonnie.bodenheimer@usdoj.gov;caseview.ecf@usdoj.gov;Vanessa.brown@usdoj.gov  Kristi Schubert kschubert@lamothefirm.com  Stephen P. Scullin scullin@carverdarden.com, baradell@carverdarden.com  Peter James Segrist segrist@carverdarden.com, clary@carverdarden.com  Ryan M. Seidemann seidemannr@ag.state.la.us  Patrick M. Shelby rick.shelby@phelps.com, trisha.crombie@phelps.com  Nicholas Smeltz nsmeltz@stewartrobbins.com, nsmeltz@ecf.courtdrive.com;kheard@stewartrobbins.com;kheard@ecf.courtdrive.com;gtaylor@stewartrobbins.com;gtaylor@ecf.courtdrive.com  David M Spector dspector@schiffhardin.com  Roger Stetter rastetter47@yahoo.com  Paul Douglas Stewart dstewart@stewartrobbins.com, dstewart@ecf.courtdrive.com;kheard@stewartrobbins.com;kheard@ecf.courtdrive.com;gtaylor@stewartrobbins.com;gtaylor@ecf.courtdrive.com  Jefferson R. Tillery jtillery@joneswalker.com  Richard Trahant trahant@trahantlawoffice.com  Office of the U.S. Trustee USTPRegion05.NR.ECF@usdoj.gov  R. Patrick Vance pvance@joneswalker.com, nwiebelt@joneswalker.com;patrick-vance-7526@ecf.pacerpro.com

6

 Richard P Voorhies Richard@voorhieslaw.com, tosha@voorhieslaw.com;kasey@voorhieslaw.com  David F. Waguespack waguespack@carverdarden.com, docket@carverdarden.com;plaisance@carverdarden.com  David E. Walle dwalle@bfrob.com, aadams@bfrob.com  John W. Waters jwaters@bfrob.com, aadams@bfrob.com  Regina S. Wedig reginawedig@wediglaw.com, rswedig@hotmail.com  Edward Dirk Wegmann dwegmann@joneswalker.com  Brittany Rose Wolf-Freedman bwolf@gainsben.com, sburrell@gainsben.com  Wayne George Zeringue wzeringue@joneswalker.com  Michael S. Zerlin mzerlin@netscape.net /s/ Douglas S. Draper

7