HTML Document View

Full title: Stipulation By Elissa Miller (TR) and Stipulation Authorizing Reservation of Fees and Expenses and Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Russo/Route 91) Filed by Trustee Elissa Miller (TR) (Andrassy, Kyra) (Entered: 08/24/2021)

Document posted on Aug 23, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 5 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

Prior to the Petition Date, the Debtor was retained by the Client to represen9 them in an action pending in the Eighth Judicial District Court, for the County of Clark, 10 Nevada, entitled Rachel Sheppard, et al, v. MGM Resorts International, et al,From the amount awarded to the Client, PSB will pay the following: 26 (1) $554.72 to PSB, comprised of $525.00 for its portion of the Contingency 27 Fee, $29.72 for costs; 28 1 (2) $977.60 to the Trustee, comprised of $975.00 for the Debtor's portion of th 2 Contingency Fee and $2.60 for the Client's pro rata share of costs; 3 (3) $4.59 to PSB for common costs; and 4 (4)My business address is: 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): Stipulation Authorizing Reservation of Fees anxpenses and Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Russo/Route 91) will be served or was served (a) oe judge in chambers in the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: .P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______________, I served e following persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing tuch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows.Ashleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Clifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com  Lei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Richard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com  Timothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Jeremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com

List of Tables

Document Contents

1 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Philip E. Strok, State Bar No. 169296 2 pstrok@swelawfirm.com Kyra E. Andrassy, State Bar No. 207959 3 kandrassy@swelawfirm.com Timothy W. Evanston, State Bar No. 319342 4 tevanston@swelawfirm.com 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250 5 Costa Mesa, California 92626 Telephone: 714 445-1000 6 Facsimile: 714 445-1002 7 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee 8 9 UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 10 CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 11 LOS ANGELES DIVISION 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 I GnI RreA RDI KEESE, CChaasep tNero 7. 2:20-bk-21022-BR ornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 SRTEISPEURLVAATTIOIONN A OUFT HFOEERSIZ AINNGD s0 15 EXPENSES AND DISTRIBUTION OF e1 M5- Debtor. SETTLEMENT PAYMENT TO CLIENT a 4 ost4 4 16 (M. RUSSO/ROUTE 91) C71 el 17 [No Hearing Required] T 18 19 TO THE HONORABLE BARRY RUSSELL, UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE20 Elissa D. Miller, the chapter 7 trustee of the bankruptcy estate of Girardi Keese 21 (the "Trustee") and Panish Shea & Boyle LLP ("PSB"), and M.Russo (the "Client"), 22 through their attorneys, enter into this Stipulation Authorizing Distribution of Settlement 23 Payment to Client (M. Russo/Route 91) (the "Stipulation") as follows: 24 25 RECITALS 26 A. On December 18, 2020 (the "Petition Date"), an involuntary chapter 7 27 bankruptcy petition ("Petition") was filed against Girardi Keese ("Debtor"). As of the filing28

1

1 of the involuntary petition, Debtor was counsel of record in a significant number of 2 matters which were undertaken on a contingency basis. 3 B. The petitioning creditors moved for the appointment of an interim trustee 4 which was granted by the Court by order entered January 5, 2021. The Trustee was 5 appointed as the interim chapter 7 trustee on January 6, 2021. The order for relief was 6 entered January 13, 2021 and, the same date, the Trustee was reappointed and has 7 been serving in that capacity since. 8 C. Prior to the Petition Date, the Debtor was retained by the Client to represen9 them in an action pending in the Eighth Judicial District Court, for the County of Clark, 10 Nevada, entitled Rachel Sheppard, et al, v. MGM Resorts International, et al, Case No. 11 A-18-769752-C (the "Route 91 Case"). 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 the groDss. settPleumrseunat npta tyom theen tfse (et haeg r"eCeomnteinngt,e tnhcey D Feebet"o)r, wplauss troe irmecbeuirvsee ma epnetr coef nctoasgtes .o fI nornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 2020, the Debtor associated PSB to prosecute the case on behalf of the Client and s0 15 reached an agreement regarding the allocation of the Contingency Fee so that the Debtoe1 M5- a 4 ost4 4 16 was to receive 65% and PSB was to receive 35%. C1 7 el 17 E. The Debtor incurred costs of $2.60, PSB incurred costs of $29.72 and the T 18 Client's share of pro rata common costs of $4.59. 19 F. The Trustee is advised that the Client has reached a settlement in the 20 Route 91 Case. Based on the settlement amount, the Contingency Fee is $1,500.00. 21 G. Due to the Debtor's bankruptcy, the parties are seeking confirmation of the 22 proposed distribution of the Settlement Amount as set forth in this Stipulation. 23 STIPULATION 24 In light of the foregoing, the parties stipulate as follows: 25 From the amount awarded to the Client, PSB will pay the following: 26 (1) $554.72 to PSB, comprised of $525.00 for its portion of the Contingency 27 Fee, $29.72 for costs; 28

2

1 (2) $977.60 to the Trustee, comprised of $975.00 for the Debtor's portion of th 2 Contingency Fee and $2.60 for the Client's pro rata share of costs; 3 (3) $4.59 to PSB for common costs; and 4 (4) The balance of the Settlement Amount will be remitted by PSB to the Client 5 IT IS SO STIPULATED. 6 7 DATED: August _2_3_, 2021 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP 8 By: 9 /s/ Kyra E. Andrassy KYRA E. ANDRASSY 10 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee of Girardi Keese 11 2 00 (cid:1)(cid:3) 92626 4 445-1 1123 DATED: August ___, 2021 PANISH SHEA & BOYLE LLP a, California 00 • Fax 71 14 By: MATTHEW STUMPF, Attorneys for the Cliens0 15 e1 M5- a 4 ost4 4 16 C1 7 el 17 T (cid:2)(cid:1) DATED: August ___, 2021 M. Russo (Client) 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

3

PROOF OF SERVICE OF DOCUMENT am over the age of 18 and not a party to this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding. My business address is: 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): Stipulation Authorizing Reservation of Fees anxpenses and Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Russo/Route 91) will be served or was served (a) oe judge in chambers in the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: . TO BE SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (NEF): Pursuant to controlling General rders and LBR, the foregoing document will be served by the court via NEF and hyperlink to the document. On (date) /24/2021, I checked the CM/ECF docket for this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding and determined that the llowing persons are on the Electronic Mail Notice List to receive NEF transmission at the email addresses stated below: Service information continued on attached page . SERVED BY UNITED STATES MAIL: n (date) 8/24/2021, I served the following persons and/or entities at the last known addresses in this bankruptcy case ordversary proceeding by placing a true and correct copy thereof in a sealed envelope in the United States mail, first classostage prepaid, and addressed as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration that mailing to the judge will e completed no later than 24 hours after the document is filed. The Honorable Barry Russell U.S. Bankruptcy Court Roybal Federal Building 255 E. Temple Street, Suite 1660 Los Angeles, CA 90012 Service information continued on attached page . SERVED BY PERSONAL DELIVERY, OVERNIGHT MAIL, FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION OR EMAIL (state method r each person or entity served): Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______________, I served e following persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing tuch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration at personal delivery on, or overnight mail to, the judge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is led. Service information continued on attached page declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States that the foregoing is true and correct. 8/24/2021 Lynnette Garrett /s/ Lynnette Garrett Date Printed Name Signature This form is mandatory. It has been approved for use by the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California.

4

 Kyra E Andrassy kandrassy@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Rafey Balabanian rbalabanian@edelson.com, docket@edelson.com  Michelle Balady mb@bedfordlg.com, leo@bedfordlg.com  Ori S Blumenfeld ori@marguliesfaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithLaw.com  Evan C Borges eborges@ggtriallaw.com, cwinsten@ggtriallaw.com  Richard D Buckley richard.buckley@arentfox.com  Marie E Christiansen mchristiansen@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,marie-christiansen-4166@ecf.pacerpro.com  Jennifer Witherell Crastz jcrastz@hrhlaw.com  Ashleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Clifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com  Lei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Richard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com  Timothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Jeremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com  James J Finsten , jimfinsten@hotmail.com  Alan W Forsley alan.forsley@flpllp.com, awf@fkllawfirm.com,awf@fl-lawyers.net,addy.flores@flpllp.com  Eric D Goldberg eric.goldberg@dlapiper.com, eric-goldberg-1103@ecf.pacerpro.com  Andrew Goodman agoodman@andyglaw.com, Goodman.AndrewR102467@notify.bestcase.com  Suzanne C Grandt suzanne.grandt@calbar.ca.gov, joan.randolph@calbar.ca.gov  Steven T Gubner sgubner@bg.law, ecf@bg.law  Marshall J Hogan mhogan@swlaw.com, knestuk@swlaw.com  Sheryl K Ith sith@cookseylaw.com, sith@ecf.courtdrive.com  Razmig Izakelian razmigizakelian@quinnemanuel.com  Lillian Jordan ENOTICES@DONLINRECANO.COM, RMAPA@DONLINRECANO.COM  Lewis R Landau Lew@Landaunet.com  Daniel A Lev dlev@sulmeyerlaw.com, ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com;dlev@ecf.inforuptcy.com  Elizabeth A Lombard elombard@zwickerpc.com, bknotices@zwickerpc.com  Craig G Margulies Craig@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com  Ron Maroko ron.maroko@usdoj.gov  Peter J Mastan peter.mastan@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@dinsmore.com;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Edith R. Matthai ematthai@romalaw.com, lrobie@romalaw.com  Kenneth Miller kmiller@pmcos.com, efilings@pmcos.com  Elissa Miller (TR) CA71@ecfcbis.com, MillerTrustee@Sulmeyerlaw.com;C124@ecfcbis.com;ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com  Eric A Mitnick MitnickLaw@aol.com, mitnicklaw@gmail.com  Scott H Olson solson@vedderprice.com, scott-olson- 2161@ecf.pacerpro.com,ecfsfdocket@vedderprice.com,nortega@vedderprice.com  Carmela Pagay ctp@lnbyb.com  Leonard Pena lpena@penalaw.com, penasomaecf@gmail.com;penalr72746@notify.bestcase.com  Michael J Quinn mquinn@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,michael-quinn-2870@ecf.pacerpro.com  David M Reeder david@reederlaw.com, secretary@reederlaw.com  Ronald N Richards ron@ronaldrichards.com, morani@ronaldrichards.com  Kevin C Ronk Kevin@portilloronk.com, Attorneys@portilloronk.com  Frank X Ruggier frank@ruggierlaw.com, enotice@pricelawgroup.com  William F Savino wsavino@woodsoviatt.com, lherald@woodsoviatt.com  Kenneth John Shaffer johnshaffer@quinnemanuel.com  Richard M Steingard , awong@steingardlaw.com  Philip E Strok pstrok@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;1garrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Boris Treyzon bt@treyzon.com, sgonzales@actslaw.com  United States Trustee (LA) ustpregion16.la.ecf@usdoj.gov  Eric D Winston ericwinston@quinnemanuel.com  Christopher K.S. Wong christopher.wong@arentfox.com, yvonne.li@arentfox.com  Timothy J Yoo tjy@lnbyb.com This form is mandatory. It has been approved for use by the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California.

5