HTML Document View

Full title: Stipulation By Elissa Miller (TR) and Stipulation Authorizing Reservation of Fees and Expenses and Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Denkler/Route 91) Filed by Trustee Elissa Miller (TR) (Andrassy, Kyra) (Entered: 08/24/2021)

Document posted on Aug 23, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 5 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

Prior to the Petition Date, the Debtor and AW were retained by the Client to9 represent them in an action pending in the Eighth Judicial District Court, for the County o10 Clark, Nevada, entitled Rachel Sheppard, et al, v. MGM Resorts International, et al, Cas11 No. A-18-769752-C (the "Route 91 Case").The Debtor incurred costs of $8.21, AW had no costs, PSB incurred costs 19 of $104.72 and the Client's share of pro rata common costs of $14.48.From the amount awarded to the Client, PSB will pay the following: 27 (1) $1,760.71 to PSB, comprised of $1,655.99 for its portion of the Contingenc28 Fee and $104.72 for costs; 1 (2) $1,392.14 to the Trustee, comprised of $1,383.93 for the Debtor's portion o2 the Contingency Fee and $8.21 for the Client's pro rata share of costs; 3 (3) $1,691.48 to AW representing its portion of the Contingency Fee; and4 (3) $14.48 to PSB for common costs.My business address is: 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): Stipulation Authorizing Reservation of Fees anxpenses and Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Denkler/Route 91) will be served or was served (n the judge in chambers in the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: .Ashleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Clifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com  Lei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Richard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com  Timothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Jeremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com

List of Tables

Document Contents

1 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Philip E. Strok, State Bar No. 169296 2 pstrok@swelawfirm.com Kyra E. Andrassy, State Bar No. 207959 3 kandrassy@swelawfirm.com Timothy W. Evanston, State Bar No. 319342 4 tevanston@swelawfirm.com 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250 5 Costa Mesa, California 92626 Telephone: 714 445-1000 6 Facsimile: 714 445-1002 7 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee 8 9 UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 10 CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 11 LOS ANGELES DIVISION 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 I GnI RreA RDI KEESE, CChaasep tNero 7. 2:20-bk-21022-BR ornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 SRTEISPEURLVAATTIOIONN A OUFT HFOEERSIZ AINNGD s0 15 EXPENSES AND DISTRIBUTION OF e1 M5- Debtor. SETTLEMENT PAYMENT TO CLIENT a 4 ost4 4 16 (M. DENKLER/ROUTE 91) C71 el 17 [No Hearing Required] T 18 19 TO THE HONORABLE BARRY RUSSELL, UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE20 Elissa D. Miller, the chapter 7 trustee of the bankruptcy estate of Girardi Keese 21 (the "Trustee"), Angelo & White APC ("AW"), Panish Shea & Boyle LLP ("PSB"), and M. 22 Denkler (the "Client"), through their attorneys, enter into this Stipulation Authorizing 23 Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Denkler/Route 91) (the "Stipulation") as 24 follows: 25 26 RECITALS 27 A. On December 18, 2020 (the "Petition Date"), an involuntary chapter 7 28 bankruptcy petition ("Petition") was filed against Girardi Keese ("Debtor"). As of the filing

1

1 of the involuntary petition, Debtor was counsel of record in a significant number of 2 matters which were undertaken on a contingency basis. 3 B. The petitioning creditors moved for the appointment of an interim trustee 4 which was granted by the Court by order entered January 5, 2021. The Trustee was 5 appointed as the interim chapter 7 trustee on January 6, 2021. The order for relief was 6 entered January 13, 2021 and, the same date, the Trustee was reappointed and has 7 been serving in that capacity since. 8 C. Prior to the Petition Date, the Debtor and AW were retained by the Client to9 represent them in an action pending in the Eighth Judicial District Court, for the County o10 Clark, Nevada, entitled Rachel Sheppard, et al, v. MGM Resorts International, et al, Cas11 No. A-18-769752-C (the "Route 91 Case"). 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 percenDta.g e ofP tuhres ugaronst st os ethttele fmeee natg preaeymmeenntt,s t(hthee D "eCbotonrt inagnedn AcWy F weeer"e), tpol ures ceive a ornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 reimbursement of costs. In 2020, the Debtor associated PSB to prosecute the case on s0 15 behalf of the Client and reached an agreement regarding the allocation of the e1 M5- a 4 ost4 4 16 Contingency Fee so that the Debtor was to receive 29.25%, AW was to receive 35.75%, C1 7 el 17 and PSB was to receive 35%. T 18 E. The Debtor incurred costs of $8.21, AW had no costs, PSB incurred costs 19 of $104.72 and the Client's share of pro rata common costs of $14.48. 20 F. The Trustee is advised that the Client has reached a settlement in the 21 Route 91 Case. Based on the settlement amount, the Contingency Fee is $4,731.40. 22 G. Due to the Debtor's bankruptcy, the parties are seeking confirmation of the 23 proposed distribution of the Settlement Amount as set forth in this Stipulation. 24 STIPULATION 25 In light of the foregoing, the parties stipulate as follows: 26 From the amount awarded to the Client, PSB will pay the following: 27 (1) $1,760.71 to PSB, comprised of $1,655.99 for its portion of the Contingenc28 Fee and $104.72 for costs;

2

1 (2) $1,392.14 to the Trustee, comprised of $1,383.93 for the Debtor's portion o2 the Contingency Fee and $8.21 for the Client's pro rata share of costs; 3 (3) $1,691.48 to AW representing its portion of the Contingency Fee; and4 (3) $14.48 to PSB for common costs. 5 (4) The balance of the Settlement Amount will be remitted by PSB to the Client 6 IT IS SO STIPULATED. 7 8 DATED: August _2_3_, 2021 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP 9 By: /s/ Kyra E. Andrassy 10 KYRA E. ANDRASSY 11 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 02 Trustee of Girardi Keese 0 ornia 92626 ax 714 445-1 1123 DATED: August _(cid:1)_(cid:2)(cid:3)_, 2021 ANGELO & WHITE APC sa, Calif000 • F 1145 By: e1 M5- a 4 ost4 4 16 C1 7 el 17 (cid:2)(cid:3) T DATED: August ___, 2021 PANISH SHEA & BOYLE LLP 18 19 By: MATTHEW STUMPF, Attorneys for the Clien 20 21 22 (cid:2)(cid:3) DATED: August ___, 2021 M. Denkler (Client) 23 24 25 26 27 28

3

PROOF OF SERVICE OF DOCUMENT am over the age of 18 and not a party to this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding. My business address is: 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): Stipulation Authorizing Reservation of Fees anxpenses and Distribution of Settlement Payment to Client (M. Denkler/Route 91) will be served or was served (n the judge in chambers in the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: . TO BE SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (NEF): Pursuant to controlling General rders and LBR, the foregoing document will be served by the court via NEF and hyperlink to the document. On (date) /24/2021, I checked the CM/ECF docket for this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding and determined that the llowing persons are on the Electronic Mail Notice List to receive NEF transmission at the email addresses stated below: Service information continued on attached page . SERVED BY UNITED STATES MAIL: n (date) 8/24/2021, I served the following persons and/or entities at the last known addresses in this bankruptcy case ordversary proceeding by placing a true and correct copy thereof in a sealed envelope in the United States mail, first classostage prepaid, and addressed as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration that mailing to the judge will e completed no later than 24 hours after the document is filed. The Honorable Barry Russell U.S. Bankruptcy Court Roybal Federal Building 255 E. Temple Street, Suite 1660 Los Angeles, CA 90012 Service information continued on attached page . SERVED BY PERSONAL DELIVERY, OVERNIGHT MAIL, FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION OR EMAIL (state method r each person or entity served): Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______________, I served e following persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing tuch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration at personal delivery on, or overnight mail to, the judge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is led. Service information continued on attached page declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States that the foregoing is true and correct. 8/24/2021 Lynnette Garrett /s/ Lynnette Garrett Date Printed Name Signature This form is mandatory. It has been approved for use by the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California.

4

 Kyra E Andrassy kandrassy@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Rafey Balabanian rbalabanian@edelson.com, docket@edelson.com  Michelle Balady mb@bedfordlg.com, leo@bedfordlg.com  Ori S Blumenfeld ori@marguliesfaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithLaw.com  Evan C Borges eborges@ggtriallaw.com, cwinsten@ggtriallaw.com  Richard D Buckley richard.buckley@arentfox.com  Marie E Christiansen mchristiansen@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,marie-christiansen-4166@ecf.pacerpro.com  Jennifer Witherell Crastz jcrastz@hrhlaw.com  Ashleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Clifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com  Lei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Richard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com  Timothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Jeremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com  James J Finsten , jimfinsten@hotmail.com  Alan W Forsley alan.forsley@flpllp.com, awf@fkllawfirm.com,awf@fl-lawyers.net,addy.flores@flpllp.com  Eric D Goldberg eric.goldberg@dlapiper.com, eric-goldberg-1103@ecf.pacerpro.com  Andrew Goodman agoodman@andyglaw.com, Goodman.AndrewR102467@notify.bestcase.com  Suzanne C Grandt suzanne.grandt@calbar.ca.gov, joan.randolph@calbar.ca.gov  Steven T Gubner sgubner@bg.law, ecf@bg.law  Marshall J Hogan mhogan@swlaw.com, knestuk@swlaw.com  Sheryl K Ith sith@cookseylaw.com, sith@ecf.courtdrive.com  Razmig Izakelian razmigizakelian@quinnemanuel.com  Lillian Jordan ENOTICES@DONLINRECANO.COM, RMAPA@DONLINRECANO.COM  Lewis R Landau Lew@Landaunet.com  Daniel A Lev dlev@sulmeyerlaw.com, ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com;dlev@ecf.inforuptcy.com  Elizabeth A Lombard elombard@zwickerpc.com, bknotices@zwickerpc.com  Craig G Margulies Craig@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com  Ron Maroko ron.maroko@usdoj.gov  Peter J Mastan peter.mastan@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@dinsmore.com;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Edith R. Matthai ematthai@romalaw.com, lrobie@romalaw.com  Kenneth Miller kmiller@pmcos.com, efilings@pmcos.com  Elissa Miller (TR) CA71@ecfcbis.com, MillerTrustee@Sulmeyerlaw.com;C124@ecfcbis.com;ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com  Eric A Mitnick MitnickLaw@aol.com, mitnicklaw@gmail.com  Scott H Olson solson@vedderprice.com, scott-olson- 2161@ecf.pacerpro.com,ecfsfdocket@vedderprice.com,nortega@vedderprice.com  Carmela Pagay ctp@lnbyb.com  Leonard Pena lpena@penalaw.com, penasomaecf@gmail.com;penalr72746@notify.bestcase.com  Michael J Quinn mquinn@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,michael-quinn-2870@ecf.pacerpro.com  David M Reeder david@reederlaw.com, secretary@reederlaw.com  Ronald N Richards ron@ronaldrichards.com, morani@ronaldrichards.com  Kevin C Ronk Kevin@portilloronk.com, Attorneys@portilloronk.com  Frank X Ruggier frank@ruggierlaw.com, enotice@pricelawgroup.com  William F Savino wsavino@woodsoviatt.com, lherald@woodsoviatt.com  Kenneth John Shaffer johnshaffer@quinnemanuel.com  Richard M Steingard , awong@steingardlaw.com  Philip E Strok pstrok@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;1garrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Boris Treyzon bt@treyzon.com, sgonzales@actslaw.com  United States Trustee (LA) ustpregion16.la.ecf@usdoj.gov  Eric D Winston ericwinston@quinnemanuel.com  Christopher K.S. Wong christopher.wong@arentfox.com, yvonne.li@arentfox.com  Timothy J Yoo tjy@lnbyb.com This form is mandatory. It has been approved for use by the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California.

5