HTML Document View

Full title: Declaration re: Redacted- Declaration of Jeffrey Nadrich In Support Of: Omnibus Reply In Support Of Trustee's: (A) Motion For Order Authorizing the Transition and Assignment Of The Estate's Interests In The NFL Concussion Litigation to Goldberg Persky White P.C. Free and Clear of Liens, Claims and Interests Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 363; and (B) Motion for Order Authorizing the Transition and Assignment of the Estate's Interests in the Mesh Litigation to Nadrich & Cohen LLP and The Oshman Firm, LLC, Free and Clear of Liens, Claims and Interests Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 363 with Proof of Service Filed by Trustee Elissa Miller (TR) (RE: related document(s)389 Motion for Order Authorizing the Transition and Assignment of the Estate's Interests in the NFL Concussion Litigation to Goldberg Persky White P.C. Free and Clear of Liens, Claims and Interests Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Secton 363; Memorandum of Poi, 428 Motion (REDACTED) Motion for Order Authorizing the Transition and Assignment of the Estate's Interests in the Mesh Litigation to Nadrich & Cohen LLP and The Oshman Firm, LLC, Free and Clear of Liens, Claims and Interests Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Se). (Strok, Philip) (Entered: 08/03/2021)

Document posted on Aug 2, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 7 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): DECLARATION OF JEFFREY NADRICH IN UPPORT OF OMNIBUS REPLY IN SUPPORT OF TRUSTEE'S: (A) MOTION FOR ORDER AUTHORIZING THE RANSITION AND ASSIGNMENT OF THE ESTATE'S INTERESTS IN THE NFL CONCUSSION LITIGATION TO OLDBERG PERSKY WHITE P.C.FREE AND CLEAR OF LIENS, CLAIMS AND INTERESTS PURSUANT TO 11 .S.C. § 363; AND (B) MOTION FOR ORDER AUTHORIZING THE TRANSITION AND ASSIGNMENT OF THE STATE'S INTERESTS IN THE MESH LITIGATION TO NADRICH & COHEN LLP AND THE OSHMAN FIRM, LLC, REE AND CLEAR OF LIENS, CLAIMS AND INTERESTS PURSUANT TO 11 U.S.C. § 363 will be served or was erved (a) on the judge in chambers in the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated elow: .TOP. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______, I served the llowing persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing to uch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows.Jeremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com James J Finsten , jimfinsten@hotmail.com  Alan W Forsley alan.forsley@flpllp.com, awf@fkllawfirm.com,awf@fl-lawyers.net,addy.flores@flpllp.com Eric D Goldberg eric.goldberg@dlapiper.com, eric-goldberg-1103@ecf.pacerpro.com Andrew Goodman agoodman@andyglaw.com, Goodman. Daniel A Lev dlev@sulmeyerlaw.com, ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com;dlev@ecf.inforuptcy.com Elizabeth A Lombard elombard@zwickerpc.com, bknotices@zwickerpc.com Craig G Margulies Craig@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com Ron Maroko ron.maroko@usdoj.gov  Peter J Mastan peter.mastan@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@dinsmore.com;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com Edith R. Matthai ematthai@romalaw.com, lrobie@romalaw.com Kenneth Miller kmiller@pmcos.com, efilings@pmcos.com  Elissa Miller (TR) CA71@ecfcbis.com, MillerTrustee@Sulmeyerlaw.com;C124@ecfcbis.com;ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com Eric A Mitnick MitnickLaw@aol.com, mitnicklaw@gmail.com Scott H Olson

List of Tables

Document Contents

1 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Philip E. Strok, State Bar No. 169296 2 pstrok@swelawfirm.com Kyra E. Andrassy, State Bar No. 207959 3 kandrassy@swelawfirm.com Timothy W. Evanston, State Bar No. 319342 4 tevanston@swelawfirm.com 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250 5 Costa Mesa, California 92626 Telephone: 714 445-1000 6 Facsimile: 714 445-1002 7 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee 8 UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 9 CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA – LOS ANGELES DIVISION 10 In re Case No. 2:20-bk-21022-BR 11 GIRARDI KEESE, Chapter 7 2  00 12 92626  4 445‐1 13 Debtor. DINE SCULPAPROARTITO ONF O OFM JNEIFBFURSE YR ENPALDYR IINC H alifornia  •  Fax 71 14 S UPPORT OF TRUSTEE'S: a, C 00   (A) MOTION FOR ORDER es 10 15 AUTHORIZING THE TRANSITION AND osta M 4 445‐ 16 AINSTSEIRGENSMTESN ITN OTFH ET HNEF LE SCTOANTCEU'SS SION C 1 7 el   LITIGATION TO GOLDBERG PERSKY T 17 WHITE P.C. FREE AND CLEAR OF LIENS, CLAIMS AND INTERESTS 18 PURSUANT TO 11 U.S.C. § 363; AND 19 (B) MOTION FOR ORDER AUTHORIZING THE TRANSITION AND 20 ASSIGNMENT OF THE ESTATE'S INTERESTS IN THE MESH LITIGATION 21 TO NADRICH & COHEN LLP AND THE OSHMAN FIRM, LLC, FREE AND 22 CLEAR OF LIENS, CLAIMS AND INTERESTS PURSUANT TO 11 U.S.C. § 23 363 24 Date: August 10, 2021 Time: 2:00 p.m. 25 Ctrm.: 1668 255 E. Temple Street 26 Los Angeles, California 90012 27 28

1

1 DECLARATION OF JEFFREY NADRICH 2 I, Jeffrey Nadrich, declare as follows: 3 1. I am an attorney at law duly licensed to practice before all courts in the 4 State of California and the United States District Court. I know each of the following fact5 to be true of my own personal knowledge, except as otherwise stated and, if called as a 6 witness, I could and would competently testify with respect thereto. I make this 7 declaration in support of the Trustee's Omnibus Reply in Support of Trustee's: (A) Motio8 for Order Authorizing the Transition and Assignment of the Estate's Interests in the NFL 9 Concussion Litigation to Goldberg Persky White P.C. Free and Clear of Liens, Claims 10 and Interests Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 363; and (B) Motion for Order Authorizing the 11 Transition and Assignment of the Estate's Interests in the Mesh Litigation to Nadrich & 2  00 12 Cohen LLP and The Oshman Firm, LLC, Free and Clear of Liens, Claims and Interests 92626  4 445‐1 13 Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 363 (the "Reply"). Unless otherwise defined in this declaration, alifornia  •  Fax 71 14 all terms defined in the Reply are incorporated herein by this reference. a, C 00   es 10 15 2. I have extensive experience litigating mass tort cases, having settled over M 5‐ osta  4 44 16 1,000 mass tort cases over the last 20 years. In addition, Nadrich & Cohen, LLP has C 1 7 el   T 17 partnered with co-counsel The Oshman Firm, LLC, in the Mesh Litigation since 2010. 18 3. Prior to the Debtor's bankruptcy case, my firm entered into approximately 19 20 co-counsel/referral agreements with the Debtor concerning the Mesh Litigation. 20 Under these co-counsel/referral agreements, the Debtor was to receive of the 21 attorneys' fees to be recovered in the Mesh Litigation after referral fees are paid. 22 4. The Debtor disclosed to N&O that the majority of the Debtor's cases were 23 referred to the Debtor, with the Debtor to receive of the attorneys' fees recovere24 after paying referring counsel. 25 5. The BSC Litigation has settled. Under the settlement agreement, the 26 defendants in the BSC litigation have agreed to pay to resolve the litigation. 27 6. The settlement of the BSC Litigation does not mean that no work remains t28 be done. The Debtor has agreed to a proposed aggregate settlement amount of

2

1 However, not a single plaintiff has received a settlement offer, nor have any 2 plaintiffs agreed to the settlement and signed a release. Before the settlement award ca3 be made to any plaintiff, a settlement master needs to first be retained and paid for. 4 After, all medical documentation for each plaintiff will need to be analyzed and then 5 submitted to the settlement master in a summary fashion. Later, individual awards are 6 then made by the settlement master and plaintiffs are requested to agree to a release. If7 a plaintiff does not agree to the release or the settlement terms, which often happens, 8 then the case proceeds back to ligation and trial. Many of the plaintiffs' health care 9 providers may assert medical liens against the plaintiffs' recoveries. Eventually, these 10 medical liens must be evaluated and reviewed to determine their validity. 11 7. The J&J Litigation has not settled. In fact, the parties in the J&J Litigation 2  00 12 are continuing to actively litigate the case. At one point, the court in the J&J Litigation 92626  4 445‐1 13 was considering dismissing the Debtor's clients for lack of prosecution. Currently, trial is alifornia  •  Fax 71 14 scheduled to take place either in February 2022 or March 2022. a, C 00   es 10 15 8. I personally know that Ted Oshman has attended virtually all the case M 5‐ osta  4 44 16 management conferences over the course of the last 10 years in the J&J Litigation. I C 1 7 el   T 17 know this because my firm, Nadrich & Cohen, LLP has partnered with The Oshman Firm18 in the Mesh Litigation since 2010. If the Debtor had to prove up an attorney's lien in the 19 J&J Litigation based upon a comparative contingent lien (the law in New Jersey where 20 the litigation is pending), the Debtor would be entitled to a nominal amount at best for 21 filing the complaint and plaintiff fact sheet, . 22 /// 23 /// 24 /// 25 26 27 28

3

4

PROOF OF SERVICE OF DOCUMENT am over the age of 18 and not a party to this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding. My business address is 3200 ark Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626. true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): DECLARATION OF JEFFREY NADRICH IN UPPORT OF OMNIBUS REPLY IN SUPPORT OF TRUSTEE'S: (A) MOTION FOR ORDER AUTHORIZING THE RANSITION AND ASSIGNMENT OF THE ESTATE'S INTERESTS IN THE NFL CONCUSSION LITIGATION TO OLDBERG PERSKY WHITE P.C. FREE AND CLEAR OF LIENS, CLAIMS AND INTERESTS PURSUANT TO 11 .S.C. § 363; AND (B) MOTION FOR ORDER AUTHORIZING THE TRANSITION AND ASSIGNMENT OF THE STATE'S INTERESTS IN THE MESH LITIGATION TO NADRICH & COHEN LLP AND THE OSHMAN FIRM, LLC, REE AND CLEAR OF LIENS, CLAIMS AND INTERESTS PURSUANT TO 11 U.S.C. § 363 will be served or was erved (a) on the judge in chambers in the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated elow: .TO BE SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (NEF): Pursuant to controlling Generalrders and LBR, the foregoing document will be served by the court via NEF and hyperlink to the document. On (date)August 3, 2021 I checked the CM/ECF docket for this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding and determined that thllowing persons are on the Electronic Mail Notice List to receive NEF transmission at the email addresses stated below: Service information continued on attached pag . SERVED BY UNITED STATES MAIL: n (date) ________ , I served the following persons and/or entities at the last known addresses in this bankruptcy caser adversary proceeding by placing a true and correct copy thereof in a sealed envelope in the United States mail, firstlass, postage prepaid, and addressed as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration that mailing to the judgill be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is filed. Service information continued on attached pag . SERVED BY PERSONAL DELIVERY, OVERNIGHT MAIL, FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION OR EMAIL (state method r each person or entity served): Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______, I served the llowing persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing to uch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration at personal delivery on, or overnight mail to, the judge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is led. Service information continued on attached pag declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States that the foregoing is true and correct. August 3, 2021 Gabriela Gomez-Cruz /s/ Gabriela Gomez-Cruz Date PrintedName Signature

5

O BE SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (NEF):  Kyra E Andrassy kandrassy@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com Rafey Balabanian rbalabanian@edelson.com, docket@edelson.com Michelle Balady mb@bedfordlg.com, leo@bedfordlg.com  Ori S Blumenfeld ori@marguliesfaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithLaw.com Evan C Borges eborges@ggtriallaw.com, cwinsten@ggtriallaw.com Richard D Buckley richard.buckley@arentfox.com  Marie E Christiansen mchristiansen@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,marie-christiansen-4166@ecf.pacerpro.com  Jennifer Witherell Crastz jcrastz@hrhlaw.com  Ashleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Clifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com Lei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com Richard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com  Timothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com Jeremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com James J Finsten , jimfinsten@hotmail.com  Alan W Forsley alan.forsley@flpllp.com, awf@fkllawfirm.com,awf@fl-lawyers.net,addy.flores@flpllp.com Eric D Goldberg eric.goldberg@dlapiper.com, eric-goldberg-1103@ecf.pacerpro.com Andrew Goodman agoodman@andyglaw.com, Goodman.AndrewR102467@notify.bestcase.com Suzanne C Grandt suzanne.grandt@calbar.ca.gov, joan.randolph@calbar.ca.gov Steven T Gubner sgubner@bg.law, ecf@bg.law  Marshall J Hogan mhogan@swlaw.com, knestuk@swlaw.com  Sheryl K Ith sith@cookseylaw.com, sith@ecf.courtdrive.com Razmig Izakelian razmigizakelian@quinnemanuel.com  Lillian Jordan ENOTICES@DONLINRECANO.COM, RMAPA@DONLINRECANO.COM Lewis R Landau Lew@Landaunet.com  Daniel A Lev dlev@sulmeyerlaw.com, ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com;dlev@ecf.inforuptcy.com Elizabeth A Lombard elombard@zwickerpc.com, bknotices@zwickerpc.com Craig G Margulies Craig@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com Ron Maroko ron.maroko@usdoj.gov  Peter J Mastan peter.mastan@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@dinsmore.com;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com Edith R. Matthai ematthai@romalaw.com, lrobie@romalaw.com Kenneth Miller kmiller@pmcos.com, efilings@pmcos.com  Elissa Miller (TR) CA71@ecfcbis.com, MillerTrustee@Sulmeyerlaw.com;C124@ecfcbis.com;ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com Eric A Mitnick MitnickLaw@aol.com, mitnicklaw@gmail.com Scott H Olson solson@vedderprice.com, scott-olson- 2161@ecf.pacerpro.com,ecfsfdocket@vedderprice.com,nortega@vedderprice.com Carmela Pagay ctp@lnbyb.com  Leonard Pena lpena@penalaw.com, penasomaecf@gmail.com;penalr72746@notify.bestcase.com Michael J Quinn mquinn@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,michael-quinn-2870@ecf.pacerpro.com  David M Reeder david@reederlaw.com, secretary@reederlaw.com Ronald N Richards ron@ronaldrichards.com, morani@ronaldrichards.com Kevin C Ronk Kevin@portilloronk.com, Attorneys@portilloronk.com Frank X Ruggier frank@ruggierlaw.com, enotice@pricelawgroup.com

6

 William F Savino wsavino@woodsoviatt.com, lherald@woodsoviatt.com  Kenneth John Shaffer johnshaffer@quinnemanuel.com  Richard M Steingard , awong@steingardlaw.com  Philip E Strok pstrok@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;1garrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Boris Treyzon bt@treyzon.com, sgonzales@actslaw.com  United States Trustee (LA) ustpregion16.la.ecf@usdoj.gov  Eric D Winston ericwinston@quinnemanuel.com  Christopher K.S. Wong christopher.wong@arentfox.com, yvonne.li@arentfox.com  Timothy J Yoo tjy@lnbyb.com

7