HTML Document View

Full title: Declaration re: of Lei Lei Wang Ekvall in Support of Stipulation Authorizing Disbursement of Settlement Funds and Fees and Expenses to the Estate (SBSC Case No. CIVDS1717346) with Proof of Service Filed by Trustee Elissa Miller (TR) (RE: related document(s)357 Stipulation By Elissa Miller (TR) and through her Attorneys, Smiley Wang-Ekvall, LLP, and VVGMC and Doctor to Authorize Disbursement of Settlement Funds and Fees and Expenses to the Estate (SBSC Case No. CIVDS1717346) with Proof of Service). (Ekvall, Lei Lei) (Entered: 05/24/2021)

Document posted on May 23, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 4 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

el 17 Clients' settlement proceeds and the Debtor's fees and expenses to the Trustee, the T 18 parties have entered into the Stipulation setting out the disbursements to be made by 19 Defendants VVGMC and Doctor. true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): DECLARATION OF LEI LEI WANG EKVALL IN UPPORT OF STIPULATION AUTHORIZING DISBURSEMENT OF SETTLEMENT FUNDS AND FEES AND EXPENSES TOHE ESTATE (SBSC CASEI checked the CM/ECF docket for this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding and determined that the llowing persons are on the Electronic Mail Notice List to receive NEF transmission at the email addresses stated below:  Service information continued on attached pag .May 24, 2021, I served the following persons and/or entities at the last known addresses in this bankruptcy ase or adversary proceeding by placing a true and correct copy thereof in a sealed envelope in the United States mail, rst class, postage prepaid, and addressed as follows.P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) _______ , I served the llowing persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing to uch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows.

List of Tables

Document Contents

1 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Lei Lei Wang Ekvall, State Bar No. 163047 2 lekvall@swelawfirm.com Philip E. Strok, State Bar No. 169296 3 pstrok@swelawfirm.com Timothy W. Evanston, State Bar No. 319342 4 tevanston@swelawfirm.com 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250 5 Costa Mesa, California 92626 Telephone: 714 445-1000 6 Facsimile: 714 445-1002 7 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee 8 9 UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 10 CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 11 LOS ANGELES DIVISION 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 I GnI RreA RDI KEESE, CChaasep tNero 7. 2:20-bk-21022-BR ornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 DEKECVALALLR AINT ISOUNP OPOF RLTE IO LFE I WANG s0 15 STIPULATION AUTHORIZING e1 M5- DISBURSEMENT OF SETTLEMENT a 4 ost4 4 16 FUNDS AND FEES AND EXPENSES TO C71 Debtor. THE ESTATE (SBSC CASE NO. el 17 CIVDS1717346) T 18 [No Hearing Required] 19 20 21 I, Lei Lei Wang Ekvall, declare: 22 1. I am a partner with Smiley Wang-Ekvall, LLP, attorneys for Elissa D. Miller,23 Chapter 7 Trustee of the bankruptcy estate of Girardi Keese (the "Trustee"). I am 24 licensed to practice before this Court and the courts of the State of California. I know 25 each of the following facts to be true of my own personal knowledge, except as otherwis26 stated and, if called as a witness, I could and would competently testify with respect 27 thereto. I make this declaration in support of the Stipulation Authorizing Disbursement of

1

1 Unless otherwise defined in this declaration, all terms defined in the Stipulation are 2 incorporated herein by this reference. 3 2. According to the Court's docket, on December 18, 2020, an involuntary 4 chapter 7 bankruptcy petition was filed against Girardi Keese ("Debtor"). The Trustee 5 was appointed as the interim chapter 7 trustee on January 6, 2021. The order for relief 6 was entered January 13, 2021 and, the same date, the Trustee was reappointed and ha7 been serving in that capacity since. 8 3. I am advised that prior to the petition date, the Debtor was retained by 9 plaintiffs, including five minors (collectively, "Clients") to prosecute an action in the San 10 Bernardino Superior Court, Case No. CIVDS1717346 (the "Litigation"). The Litigation 11 was recently resolved pursuant to a confidential settlement agreement. 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 Debtor 4a. nd thIet iCs lmieny tus,n adse rwstealnl adsin cge trhtaaitn p ourrdseurasn its tsou veadr iboyu sth aeg Sreuepmereionrt sC boeutrwt eine n the ornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 connection with the plaintiffs who are minors, the Estate is entitled to receive costs in thes0 15 amount of $76,679.55 and fees in the amount of $185,938.07. e1 M5- a 4 ost4 4 16 5. In order to avoid any reluctance on the part of Defendants to remit certain C1 7 el 17 Clients' settlement proceeds and the Debtor's fees and expenses to the Trustee, the T 18 parties have entered into the Stipulation setting out the disbursements to be made by 19 Defendants VVGMC and Doctor. 20 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America 21 that the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 22 Executed on this 24th day of May, 2021, at Costa Mesa, California. 23 /s/ Lei Lei Wang Ekvall 24 LEI LEI WANG EKVALL 25 26 27

2

PROOF OF SERVICE OF DOCUMENT am over the age of 18 and not a party to this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding. My business address is 3200 ark Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626. true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): DECLARATION OF LEI LEI WANG EKVALL IN UPPORT OF STIPULATION AUTHORIZING DISBURSEMENT OF SETTLEMENT FUNDS AND FEES AND EXPENSES TOHE ESTATE (SBSC CASE NO. CIVDS1717346) will be served or was served (a) on the judge in chambers in the form and anner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: . TO BE SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (NEF): Pursuant to controlling General rders and LBR, the foregoing document will be served by the court via NEF and hyperlink to the document. On (date) ay 24, 2021 I checked the CM/ECF docket for this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding and determined that the llowing persons are on the Electronic Mail Notice List to receive NEF transmission at the email addresses stated below:  Service information continued on attached pag . SERVED BY UNITED STATES MAIL: n (date) May 24, 2021, I served the following persons and/or entities at the last known addresses in this bankruptcy ase or adversary proceeding by placing a true and correct copy thereof in a sealed envelope in the United States mail, rst class, postage prepaid, and addressed as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration that mailing to the dge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is filed. The Honorable Barry Russell U.S. Bankruptcy Court Roybal Federal Building 255 E. Temple Street, Suite 1660 Los Angeles, CA 90012  Service information continued on attached pag . SERVED BY PERSONAL DELIVERY, OVERNIGHT MAIL, FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION OR EMAIL (state method r each person or entity served): Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) _______ , I served the llowing persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing to uch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration at personal delivery on, or overnight mail to, the judge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is led.  Service information continued on attached pag declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States that the foregoing is true and correct. May 24, 2021 Gabriela Gomez-Cruz /s/ Gabriela Gomez-Cruz Date Printed Name Signature

3

ADDITIONAL SERVICE INFORMATION (if needed): . SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (“NEF”) yra E Andrassy kandrassy@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com afey Balabanian rbalabanian@edelson.com, docket@edelson.com ichelle Balady mb@bedfordlg.com, leo@bedfordlg.com illiam C Beall will@beallandburkhardt.com, carissa@beallandburkhardt.com ri S Blumenfeld Ori@MarguliesFaithLaw.com, elen@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithLaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithLaw.com ichard D Buckley richard.buckley@arentfox.com arie E Christiansen mchristiansen@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,marie-christiansen-166@ecf.pacerpro.com ennifer Witherell Crastz jcrastz@hrhlaw.com shleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com lifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com ei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com ichard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com imothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com eremy Faith Jeremy@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, elen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Vicky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com ames J Finsten , jimfinsten@hotmail.com lan W Forsley alan.forsley@flpllp.com, awf@fkllawfirm.com,awf@fl-lawyers.net,addy.flores@flpllp.com ric D Goldberg eric.goldberg@dlapiper.com, eric-goldberg-1103@ecf.pacerpro.com ndrew Goodman agoodman@andyglaw.com, Goodman.AndrewR102467@notify.bestcase.com uzanne C Grandt suzanne.grandt@calbar.ca.gov, joan.randolph@calbar.ca.gov teven T Gubner sgubner@bg.law, ecf@bg.law arshall J Hogan mhogan@swlaw.com, knestuk@swlaw.com heryl K Ith sith@cookseylaw.com, sith@ecf.courtdrive.com azmig Izakelian razmigizakelian@quinnemanuel.com ewis R Landau Lew@Landaunet.com aniel A Lev dlev@sulmeyerlaw.com, ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com;dlev@ecf.inforuptcy.com lizabeth A Lombard elombard@zwickerpc.com, bknotices@zwickerpc.com raig G Margulies Craig@MarguliesFaithlaw.com, icky@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Helen@MarguliesFaithlaw.com;Angela@MarguliesFaithlaw.com eter J Mastan peter.mastan@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@dinsmore.com;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com dith R. Matthai ematthai@romalaw.com, lrobie@romalaw.com enneth Miller kmiller@pmcos.com, efilings@pmcos.com lissa Miller (TR) CA71@ecfcbis.com, MillerTrustee@Sulmeyerlaw.com;C124@ecfcbis.com;ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com ric A Mitnick MitnickLaw@aol.com, mitnicklaw@gmail.com cott H Olson solson@vedderprice.com, scott-olson- 161@ecf.pacerpro.com,ecfsfdocket@vedderprice.com,nortega@vedderprice.com eonard Pena lpena@penalaw.com, penasomaecf@gmail.com;penalr72746@notify.bestcase.com ichael J Quinn mquinn@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,michael-quinn-2870@ecf.pacerpro.com avid M Reeder david@reederlaw.com, secretary@reederlaw.com onald N Richards ron@ronaldrichards.com, morani@ronaldrichards.com evin C Ronk Kevin@portilloronk.com, Attorneys@portilloronk.com illiam F Savino wsavino@woodsoviatt.com, lherald@woodsoviatt.com enneth John Shaffer johnshaffer@quinnemanuel.com ichard M Steingard , awong@steingardlaw.com hilip E Strok pstrok@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;1garrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com oris Treyzon jfinnerty@actslaw.com, sgonzales@actslaw.com United States Trustee (LA) ustpregion16.la.ecf@usdoj.gov ric D Winston ericwinston@quinnemanuel.com hristopher K.S. Wong christopher.wong@arentfox.com, yvonne.li@arentfox.com imothy J Yoo tjy@lnbyb.com

4