HTML Document View

Full title: Notice of lodgment of Order in Bankruptcy Case re Motion for Order Approving Compromise with Engstrom, Lipscomb & Lack Regarding Distribution of Settlement Funds Pursuant to FRBP 9019 with Proof of Service Filed by Trustee Elissa Miller (TR) (RE: related document(s)196 Motion to Approve Compromise Under Rule 9019 with Engstrom, Lipscomb & Lack Regarding Distribution Settlement Funds; Memorandum of Points and Authorities; Declaration of Elissa D. Millar in Support with Proof of Service Filed by Trustee Elissa Miller (TR) (Ekvall, Lei Lei)). (Ekvall, Lei Lei) (Entered: 03/09/2021)

Document posted on Mar 8, 2021 in the bankruptcy, 7 pages and 0 tables.

Bankrupt11 Summary (Automatically Generated)

Attorney or Party Name, Address, Telephone & FAX Nos., State Bar No. & FOR COURT USE ONLY Email Address SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Lei Lei Wang Ekvall, State Bar No. 163047 LEASE TAKE NOTE that the order titled ORDER APPROVING COMPROMISE WITH ENGSTROM, IPSCOMB & LACK REGARDING DISTRIBUTION OF SETTLEMENT FUNDS PURSUANT TO RBP 9019 was lodged on March 9, 2021 and is attached.Los Angeles, CA 90012 1 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Lei Lei Wang Ekvall, State Bar No. true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): NOTICE OF LODGMENT OF ORDER IN BANKRUPTCY ASE RE: MOTION FOR ORDER APPROVING COMPROMISE WITH ENGSTROM, LIPSCOMB & LACK REGARDING ISTRIBUTION OF SETTLEMENT FUNDS PURSUANT TO FRBP 9019 will be served or was served (a) on the judge in chamber the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: .P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______ , I served the llowing persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing to uch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows.

List of Tables

Document Contents

Attorney or Party Name, Address, Telephone & FAX Nos., State Bar No. & FOR COURT USE ONLY Email Address SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Lei Lei Wang Ekvall, State Bar No. 163047 lekvall@swelawfirm.com Philip E. Strok, State Bar No. 169296 pstrok@swelawfirm.com Timothy W. Evanston, State Bar No. 319342 tevanston@swelawfirm.com 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250 Costa Mesa, California 92626 Telephone: 714 445-1000 Facsimile: 714 445-1002 Individual appearing without an attorney Attorney for: Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA – LOS ANGELES DIVISION In re: CASE NO.: 2:20-bk-210220-BR CHAPTER: 7 GIRARDI KEESE, NOTICE OF LODGMENT OF ORDER IN BANKRUPTCY CASE RE: MOTION FOR ORDER APPROVING COMPROMISE WITH ENGSTROM, LIPSCOMB & LACK REGARDING DISTRIBUTION OF Debtor(s) SETTLEMENT FUNDS PURSUANT TO FRBP 9019 LEASE TAKE NOTE that the order titled ORDER APPROVING COMPROMISE WITH ENGSTROM, IPSCOMB & LACK REGARDING DISTRIBUTION OF SETTLEMENT FUNDS PURSUANT TO RBP 9019 was lodged on March 9, 2021 and is attached. This order relates to the motion which is docket number 196.

1

ORDER

2

Bankruptcy LODGED ORDER UPLOAD FORM Tuesday, March 09, 2021 CONFIRMATION : Your Lodged Order Info: ( 10303006.docx ) A new order has been added • Office: Los Angeles • Case Title: Girardi Keese • Case Number: 20-21022 • Judge Initial: BR • Case Type: bk ( Bankruptcy ) • Document Number: 196 • On Date: 03/09/2021 @ 03:31 PM Thank You! United States Bankruptcy Court Central District of California Edward R. Roybal Federal Building and Courthouse 255 East Temple Street Los Angeles, CA 90012

3

1 SMILEY WANG-EKVALL, LLP Lei Lei Wang Ekvall, State Bar No. 163047 2 lekvall@swelawfirm.com Philip E. Strok, State Bar No. 169296 3 pstrok@swelawfirm.com Timothy W. Evanston, State Bar No. 319342 4 tevanston@swelawfirm.com 3200 Park Center Drive, Suite 250 5 Costa Mesa, California 92626 Telephone: 714 445-1000 6 Facsimile: 714 445-1002 7 Attorneys for Elissa D. Miller, Chapter 7 Trustee 8 UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT 9 CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 10 LOS ANGELES DIVISION 11 2 In re Case No. 2:20-bk-21022-BR 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 G IRARDI KEESE, C hapter 7 ornia ax 71 ORDER APPROVING COMPROMISE a, Calif00 • F 14 WREITGHA ERNDGINSGT RDOISMT,R LIBIPUSTCIOONM BO F& LACK s0 15 SETTLEMENT FUNDS PURSUANT TO e1 M5- FEDERAL RULE OF BANKRUPTCY a 4 ost4 4 16 PROCEDURE 9019 C71 Debtor. el 17 [No Hearing Required Pursuant to T Local Bankruptcy Rule 9013-11(o)] 18 19 20 21 On February 17, 2021, Elissa D. Miller, the chapter 7 trustee for the bankruptcy of22 Girardi Keese (the "Trustee"), filed and served the Motion for Order Authorizing 23 Compromise of Controversy with Engstrom, Lipscomb & Lack Regarding Distribution of 24 Settlement Funds Pursuant to Federal Rule of Bankruptcy Procedure 9019 [Docket 25 No. 196] ("Motion") and notice of the Motion [Docket No. 197] ("Notice"). No opposition 26 to or request for hearing on the Notice or Motion was filed or served. Having reviewed 27 the Notice and Motion and papers filed in support thereof, service being proper, and goo

4

1 IT IS ORDERED that: 2 1. The Motion is granted; 3 2. The Trustee is authorized to enter into the Paredes Agreement;1 4 3. The Trustee is authorized to enter into the Thompson Agreement; 5 4. The terms of the Paredes Agreement, a copy of which is attached to the 6 Motion as Exhibit "1," are approved; 7 5. The terms of the Thompson Agreement, a copy of which is attached to the 8 Motion as Exhibit "2," are approved; and 9 6. The Trustee is authorized to execute any documents or take any actions 10 reasonably necessary to effectuate the terms of the Paredes Agreement and the 11 Thompson Agreement. 2 0 0 92626 4 445-1 1123 ### ornia ax 71 a, Calif00 • F 14 s0 15 e1 M5- a 4 ost4 4 16 C1 7 el 17 T 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 1 Unless otherwise noted, defined terms have the same meaning and usage as in the Motion.

5

PROOF OF SERVICE OF DOCUMENT am over the age of 18 and not a party to this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding. My business address is 3200 ark Center Drive, Suite 250, Costa Mesa, CA 92626. true and correct copy of the foregoing document entitled (specify): NOTICE OF LODGMENT OF ORDER IN BANKRUPTCY ASE RE: MOTION FOR ORDER APPROVING COMPROMISE WITH ENGSTROM, LIPSCOMB & LACK REGARDING ISTRIBUTION OF SETTLEMENT FUNDS PURSUANT TO FRBP 9019 will be served or was served (a) on the judge in chamber the form and manner required by LBR 5005-2(d); and (b) in the manner stated below: . TO BE SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (NEF): Pursuant to controlling General rders and LBR, the foregoing document will be served by the court via NEF and hyperlink to the document. On (date) arch 9, 2021 I checked the CM/ECF docket for this bankruptcy case or adversary proceeding and determined that the llowing persons are on the Electronic Mail Notice List to receive NEF transmission at the email addresses stated below:  Service information continued on attached pag . SERVED BY UNITED STATES MAIL: n (date) March 9, 2021 , I served the following persons and/or entities at the last known addresses in this bankruptcy ase or adversary proceeding by placing a true and correct copy thereof in a sealed envelope in the United States mail, rst class, postage prepaid, and addressed as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration that mailing to the dge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is filed. he Honorable Barry Russell .S. Bankruptcy Court oybal Federal Building 55 E. Temple Street, Suite 1660 os Angeles, CA 90012  Service information continued on attached pag . SERVED BY PERSONAL DELIVERY, OVERNIGHT MAIL, FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION OR EMAIL (state method r each person or entity served): Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 5 and/or controlling LBR, on (date) ______ , I served the llowing persons and/or entities by personal delivery, overnight mail service, or (for those who consented in writing to uch service method), by facsimile transmission and/or email as follows. Listing the judge here constitutes a declaration at personal delivery on, or overnight mail to, the judge will be completed no later than 24 hours after the document is led.  Service information continued on attached pag declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States that the foregoing is true and correct. March 9, 2021 Gabriela Gomez-Cruz /s/ Gabriela Gomez-Cruz Date Printed Name Signature

6

ADDITIONAL SERVICE INFORMATION (if needed): . SERVED BY THE COURT VIA NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING (“NEF”)  Kyra E Andrassy kandrassy@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Rafey Balabanian , docket@edelson.com  Michelle Balady mb@bedfordlg.com, leo@bedfordlg.com  Richard D Buckley richard.buckley@arentfox.com  Marie E Christiansen mchristiansen@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,marie-christiansen-4166@ecf.pacerpro.com  Jennifer Witherell Crastz jcrastz@hrhlaw.com  Ashleigh A Danker Ashleigh.danker@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@DINSMORE.COM;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Clifford S Davidson csdavidson@swlaw.com, jlanglois@swlaw.com;cliff-davidson-7586@ecf.pacerpro.com  Lei Lei Wang Ekvall lekvall@swelawfirm.com, lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;gcruz@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Richard W Esterkin richard.esterkin@morganlewis.com  Timothy W Evanston tevanston@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;lgarrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  James J Finsten , jimfinsten@hotmail.com  Alan W Forsley alan.forsley@flpllp.com, awf@fkllawfirm.com,awf@fl-lawyers.net,addy.flores@flpllp.com,laura.rucker@flpllp.com  Eric D Goldberg eric.goldberg@dlapiper.com, eric-goldberg-1103@ecf.pacerpro.com  Andrew Goodman agoodman@andyglaw.com, Goodman.AndrewR102467@notify.bestcase.com  Suzanne C Grandt suzanne.grandt@calbar.ca.gov, joan.randolph@calbar.ca.gov  Steven T Gubner sgubner@bg.law, ecf@bg.law  Marshall J Hogan mhogan@swlaw.com, knestuk@swlaw.com  Razmig Izakelian razmigizakelian@quinnemanuel.com  Lewis R Landau Lew@Landaunet.com  Daniel A Lev dlev@sulmeyerlaw.com, ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com;dlev@ecf.inforuptcy.com  Peter J Mastan peter.mastan@dinsmore.com, SDCMLFiles@dinsmore.com;Katrice.ortiz@dinsmore.com  Edith R Matthai ematthai@romalaw.com  Kenneth Miller kmiller@pmcos.com, efilings@pmcos.com  Elissa Miller (TR) CA71@ecfcbis.com, MillerTrustee@Sulmeyerlaw.com;C124@ecfcbis.com;ccaldwell@sulmeyerlaw.com  Eric A Mitnick MitnickLaw@aol.com, mitnicklaw@gmail.com  Scott H Olson solson@vedderprice.com, scott-olson- 2161@ecf.pacerpro.com,ecfsfdocket@vedderprice.com,nortega@vedderprice.com  Leonard Pena lpena@penalaw.com, penasomaecf@gmail.com;penalr72746@notify.bestcase.com  Michael J Quinn mquinn@vedderprice.com, ecfladocket@vedderprice.com,michael-quinn-2870@ecf.pacerpro.com  Ronald N Richards ron@ronaldrichards.com, morani@ronaldrichards.com,justin@ronaldrichards.com  Philip E Strok pstrok@swelawfirm.com, gcruz@swelawfirm.com;1garrett@swelawfirm.com;jchung@swelawfirm.com  Boris Treyzon jfinnerty@actslaw.com, sgonzales@actslaw.com  United States Trustee (LA) ustpregion16.la.ecf@usdoj.gov  Eric D Winston ericwinston@quinnemanuel.com  Christopher K.S. Wong christopher.wong@arentfox.com, yvonne.li@arentfox.com  Timothy J Yoo tjy@lnbyb.com

7